Circus Devils Say Farewell with Pair of Releases in 2017: Tracklists Included

| |

All good things must come to an end. The longest running Robert Pollard “side project,” Circus Devils, will see its last recording of new material released on February 24th, 2017. Not only will we hear their 14th and final LP but a compilation containing 30 tracks. Not so much of a greatest hits but a can’t go wrong selection of tunes from Robert Pollard and the Tobias brothers!

Both of these releases are limited to 500 copies on vinyl so if wax is your thing be sure to pick up a copy at Rockathon, HERE, sooner than later. Also make sure to scroll down if you want to see the official album description and tracklist for each record. Long live the Circus Devils!

Laughs Last
On LAUGHS LAST, Pollard and the Tobias brothers take a breathless romp through multiple styles, starting off with the brash hotdogger, ‘Get Out Of My Way When I’m In Town.’ Along the way we’re treated to the R.E.M. inflected ‘I Do the Nixon,’ the organ-fuzz stomper ‘Teenage Rooster,’ and the defiantly conventional ‘Crucified by The British Press.’ Full of high humor and low drama, Laughs Last is the bold exclamation point at the end of Circus Devils’ 16-year run. Release date: February 24, 2017.

1. Get Out Of My Way When I’m In Town
2. Philosophy Bag
3. ZX35 Pow
4. Teenage Rooster
5. Alice Cooper Alarm Clock (inst.)
6. End Of The World Ice Cream
7. I Do The Nixon
8. Smoke Machine
9. Time Trapper
10. Crucified By The British Press
11. Mr. Detail’s Explanation
12. Farm Action
13. Into Gear
14. Cockroach Whiskey
15. To Each His Zone (Sunshine Baby Butt)
16. Aerial Photographs From Alcatraz (including nightmare parade)
17. Asteroid

Laughs Best (The Kids Eat It Up)
LAUGHS BEST (The Kids Eat it Up) is a collection of 30 speedy deliveries from rock and roll’s Twilight Zone – will leave you exhausted, satisfied, and ready for another spin. Circus Devils’ entire mind-bending catalogue is represented here, including three songs from the brand new album Laughs Last. While there is an emphasis on friendlier numbers, there is still plenty of the trio’s prog psychedelia on display. Release date: February 24, 2017.

1.Love/Hate Relationship With the Human Race (Sgt. Disco)
2.The Girls Will Make It Happen (Ataxia)
3.Don’t Be Late (Pinball Mars)
4.Freedom’s Monster (Ataxia)
5.Easy Baby (Gringo)
6.New Boy (Sgt. Disco)
7.Backwash Television (Ataxia)
8.George Took a Shovel (Sgt. Disco)
9.When Machines Attack (When Machines Attack)
10.Cyclopean Runways (Capsized)
11.Bad Baby Blue (Gringo)
12.Bull Spears (The Harold Pig Memorial)
13.Ships From Prison To Prison (Gringo)
14.To Be So Welcome (Escape)
15.Dolphins of Color (Five)
16.Monkey Head (Gringo)
17.He Had All Day (Ataxia)
18.Sunflower Wild Man (Remember Him?) (Stomping Grounds)
19.Correcto (Ringworm Interiors)
20.Gargoyle City (Pinball Mars)
21.Girl In Space (Stomping Grounds)
22.Do The Nixon (Laughs Last)
23.War Horsies (Sgt. Disco)
24.Teenage Rooster (Laughs Last)
25.Locomotion Blue Note (My Mind Has Seen The White Trick)
26.Mother Skinny (Mother Skinny)
27.Cockroach Whiskey (Laughs Last)
28.French Horn Litigation (Sgt. Disco)
29.Diamond Boys (Escape)
30.End of The Swell (Capsized)

Fire Note Staff

The Friday Fire Track: Strand Of Oaks – “Radio Kids”

The Gift feat. Brian Eno – “Love Without Violins” [Video]


Leave a Comment