Third Man Records Vault Package #23: The White Stripes

| |

2015 marks ten years since the release of the White Stripes’ Get Behind Me Satan album and tour, so Third Man Records is using that milestone as the focus of its 23rd Vault package. The package is completely dedicated to the White Stripes and highlighting their time in South America in 2005.

The soft touch, telescoping box includes the double LP Under Amazonian Lights recorded live in Manaus, Brazil on June 1st, 2005. It features a sublime cover of Bob Dylan’s “Lovesick Blues”, two versions (one electric, one acoustic) of “The Same Boy You’ve Always Known,” two versions of “Passive Manipulation” (both sublime), a snippet of Howlin Wolf’s “I Asked For Water” and ample marimba on “The Nurse.” Both LPs will be pressed on blood red vinyl with stark black wisps.

A DVD of footage from that performance is also included which should pair with the LP perfectly. The accompanying 7” single contains “Let You Down” which is a solo recording done by Jack White around the year 2000. Featuring both electric guitar and electric bass, it also has a multi-tracked four-part harmony voiced by White throughout the song. In the future the song becomes the White Stripes 2005 recording “The Nurse.” The b-side “Ain’t No Sweeter Than Rita Blues” is a White Stripes guitar/drums outtake instrumental that was recorded during the tracking of Get Behind Me Satan.

To finish Vault 23 off, designer Rob Jones put together a collection of newly designed postcards celebrating the White Stripes performances in Brazil in 2005. Rob also supplied a death head monkey design that was turned into a substantive enamel pin. A silk-screened White Stripes poster with some super-secret hidden glow in the dark graphics also is along for the ride. You can sign up for this vault package HERE by January 31st.

LP tracklisting:
Blue Orchid
Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground
Black Math
Love Sick (Bob Dylan)
My Doorbell
Passive Manipulation
Hotel Yorba
The Same Boy You’ve Always Known (electric)
The Same Boy You’ve Always Known (acoustic)
Little Ghost
When I Hear My Name
I Asked For Water (Howlin Wolf)
Fell in Love With a Girl
The Nurse
Little Bird
Death Letter (Son House)
St. James Infirmary (traditional)
Passive Manipulation (reprise)
I Just Don’t Know What to Do With Myself
(I’ll Be With You) In Apple Blossom Time (Albert Von Tilzer/Neville Fleeson)
I Just Don’t Know What to Do With Myself (continued)
Seven Nation Army

Christopher Anthony
Latest posts by Christopher Anthony (see all)

Erase Errata Return and Drop new LP on 1/20 via Own Label

Coachella’s 2015 Lineup Announced: Jack White – Drake – AC/DC


Leave a Comment